Protean and Abstracted

It’s T minus one week until the biggest trip of my entire life. A mission to Sierra Leone, West Africa and Albania. I graduated college last week and it’s been a scramble ever since to get ready to leave. Included in the preparations are 5 sermons and a devotional to share once we get there. So long as I don’t have to fill more than 20 minutes of talk time I think I can handle it. I have one. My teaching from that Wednesday night oh so long ago now. I have a feeling I’m going to be doing a lot of writing on the plane and in the airport.

IMG_2874

I’m so happy to be done with school, at least for the moment. My team held a graduation party for me and it was absolutely wonderful. There was so much food, and probably the best cake I’ve ever had.

I’m not sure exactly what I did to deserve such great friends but I think I’ll hang on to them.

 

IMG_2876

Since my graduation, however, it’s been full-speed-ahead preparations for Africa. We managed to get the necessary gear into the 13 team bags last Saturday. Despite the tertris and weight juggling between bags involved, packing my personal bag has proven infinitely more difficult.

I have to pack for three and a half weeks of travel with a 50lb weight limit. Considering I fit two weeks of life into two carry-ons for my trip to London a couple years ago, you’d think it’d be an easy task. Unfortunately, I like options.

IMG_2873

Somehow, in the middle of all this chaos, I snagged an interview with a prosthetics company here in the city. When I walked in to the shop, they had praise and worship music playing. I explained that I owed NBI at least two days a week, that I was really just looking for a way to fund being in the ministry. I didn’t expect much, but to make a long story short, I have a job waiting for me when I get back from the mission. What a God thing.

We leave this Saturday. That’s in less than a week. It’s roughly 36 hours of travel from door to door.

While I’ve been told there will be spots of wifi in the evenings, I’ll have to wait until I get there to see what scheduling is going to look like. My goal is to post at least once a week while we’re there in addition to posts on travel days. With any luck that means we’ll end up with a log of at least 5 posts from this trip. I want to document everything.

This is my first ever mission trip. Go big or go home, right?

Leave a Reply

